Miniature Brass Emporium

“Richard Iles’ sound is one of clarity, and is highly melodic. He is a highly talented and prolific composer, and finely attuned to the qualities of the players for whom he is writing. Hence the pieces sound just right for the band, providing just the right amount of catchiness for the listener, and at the same time, the right amount of material with which the players can improvise and give a compelling performance. Here, though, the composer in question is held in high regard by both his players and the wider jazz community, and the mutual respect is not only obvious, but contributes to the animation of the music which we are able to witness and enjoy “.(MJF)
The Miniature Brass Emporium is a nine piece brass ensemble augmented by the rhythm section of the Richard Iles Group. The band features elements of funk, soul and contemporary jazz with a warm brass backdrop.

The Miniature Brass Emporium has a versatile palette creating roaring ensembles and sensitive and impressionistic moods. The music is all composed by Richard Iles; so far Richard has composed a series of pieces for saxophonist Andy Schofield (premiered at mjf 2002) and an extended piece for guitarist Mike Walker.
Richard recently composed a new piece for saxophonist Iain Dixon, premiered at mjf 2006 and broadcast on BBC Radio 3’s Jazz on 3 programme.

This site uses Cookies - By using this site or closing this you agree to our Cookies policy - Read More.
Accept Cookies